Buzz building on Hwang Sun-Mi’s “The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly”

TheHenKTLIT has been in contact with Oh Jeeyon, from Penguin Books, about Hwang Sun-mi’s upcoming publication of The Hen Who Dreamed she Could Fly which is scheduled to be released (available on Amazon) on November 26, 2013.

Ms. Oh was nice enough to forward to me the following pre-publication information/buzz (which includes that happy news that translator/friend of the blog Chi-Young Kim is the translator:

Internal buzz is starting to build now that we have galleys for The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly

A must read!!

See translations sold below!

First published by Sakejul, 2000/Korean. World English rights sold to John Siciliano/Viking Penguin publication 2013 (Nov. 26, 2013) Translations also sold to: Linking/Taiwan Heibonsha/Japan Nha Nam/Vietnam China, Geracao                                   

This small book contains so much. Despair, fear, hope, doubt, joy, purpose, oppression, redemption, fulfillment, compassion and ultimately, freedom. The little hen exhibits a courage far greater than her stature would suppose and her accomplishment is greater still. At times heartbreaking, at others uplifting, always staying close to the edge of emotion, this profoundly simple and yet meaningful work can be enjoyed by any person who can read. In my opinion it could be given joyfully and sincerely to anyone without reservation. There are many lessons that can be learned and matters to be considered within this short work, rendering it, as the hen, greater than the sum of its parts. – Eric Boss, Paperback Sales

This was a million copy plus Korean Classic bestseller.  Listed on the bestseller lists in Korea for over ten years!!!

AUTHOR INFORMATION: SUN-MI HWANG is a celebrated writer in South Korea, where she has published more than twenty books and won many awards.
TRANSLATOR INFORMATION: CHI-YOUNG KIM is the translator of the nationally bestselling Korean novel Please Look After Mom by Kyung-Sook Shin.  She lives in California.
ILLUSTRATOR INFORMATION: NOMOCO is a Japanese designer and illustrator currently based in London. She has exhibited her work in solo and group exhibitions in London, Milan, Tokyo, Singapore, and New York. She also produces work under her full name Kazuko Nomoto.

SELLING POINTS:
• MASSIVE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER with more than 2 million copies sold in Korea and rights sold to leading publishers in more than 15 countries.
• FABLE FOR ADULTS: For fans of Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Animal Farm, and Life of Pi.
• CROSSOVER POTENTIAL for fans of young adult novels like Charlotte’s Web and The Incredible Journey.
• WINDOW ON KOREA: Although timeless and universal, the novel reflects modern Koreans’ frustrations with a society still steeped in traditions that discourage expressions of individuality.
• RICHLY ILLUSTRATED: with a dozen specially commissioned drawings
• GORGEOUS PACKAGE: with flaps and deckle-edge paper
• A PENGUIN PAPERBACK ORIGINAL   “Last year, the book was adapted into an animated feature, attracting millions of viewers,.. and has picked up awards at international film festivals, including best animated feature at the 2011 Asia Pacific Screen Awards in Australia.”

One thought on “Buzz building on Hwang Sun-Mi’s “The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly”

  1. Pingback: K-Lit: Buzz building on Hwang Sun-Mi’s “The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly” | Kitaab

Comments are closed.