Krys Lee’s “Drifting House” Long-listed for Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award

Krys Lee (by Mat Douma)

Krys Lee (by Mat Douma)

A bit more good news on the awards front as Krys Lee’s Drifting House has been long-listed for the Frank O’Connor International Story Award.

Launched in 2005, the award is presented each year to an original collection of stories judged to be the most accomplished. The award’s aim is to reward an individual author’s commitment to this most exacting of forms and encourage the publication of collections of stories in book form as distinct from single stories in periodicals. The winner receives payment of €25,000. The award is funded by Cork City Council and in the gift of the Munster Literature Centre.

This prestigious international short story award in the memory of Frank O’Connor is the single biggest prize in the world for a collection of short stories.

The field is rather large, a total of 76 collections are on the long list, and the competition looks to be fierce including such luminaries as Don DeLillo, and Joyce Carol Oates.

Previous winners


  • 2011 Edna O’Brien
  • 2010 Ron Rash
  • 2009 Simon Van Booy
  • 2008 Jhumpa Lahiri
  • 2007 Miranda July
  • 2006 Haruki Murakami
  • 2005 Yiyun LI